PRAVESH

The National Anthem

The Indian national anthem, composed originally in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore, was first sung at Calcutta session of Indian National Congress on 27th December 1911. Hindi version of jana gana mana was officially adopted by the constituent Assembly as the Indian National Anthem on January 24th, 1950.

The complete song consists of five stanzas. Playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is approximately 52 seconds. A short version consisting of first and last lines of the stanza (playing time approx. 20 seconds) is also played on certain occasions. The lyrics were rendered into English by Tagore himself.

Timing: 52 sec

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

जन गण मन अधिनायक जय हे
भारत भाग्य विधाता
पंजाब सिंधु गुजरात मराठा
द्रविड़ उत्कल वंग
विंध्य हिमाचल यमुना गंगा
उच्छल जलिध तरंग
तव शुभ नामे जागे
तव शुभ आशिष मागे
गाहे तव जय गाथा
जन गण मंगल दायक जय हे
भारत भाग्य विधाता
जय हे जय हे जय हे

Meaning of our national anthem:

O! Dispenser of India's destiny, thou art the ruler of the minds of all people Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindh, Gujarat, the Maratha country, in the Dravida country, Utkala and Bengal;

It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas,

it mingles in the rhapsodies of the pure waters of Yamuna and the Ganges.

They chant only thy name.

They seek only thy auspicious blessings.

They sing only the glory of thy victory.

The salvation of all people waits in thy hands,

O! Dispenser of India's destiny, thou art the ruler of the minds of all people

Victory to thee, Victory to thee, Victory to thee,

Victory, Victory, Victory, Victory to thee!.